Welsh Open: Neil Robertson into third round with Mark Joyce win

Neil Robertson beat Wales’ Jamie Clarke 4-2 in the first round of the 2020 Welsh Open
2020 Welsh Open
Dates: 10-16 February Venue: Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff
Coverage: Watch live across BBC Two Wales, BBC iPlayer, BBC Red Button, the BBC Sport website and mobile app.

Reigning Welsh Open champion Neil Robertson is through to the third round after beating Mark Joyce 4-2.

Joyce missed a crucial black ball in the fifth frame with the score tied at 2-2, and Robertson took full advantage to win consecutive frames for victory.

Stuart Bingham progressed with a 4-1 win over Chen Feilong and Ronnie O’Sullivan beat Stuart Carrington 4-2.

Wales’ biggest hope Mark Williams is also through to the third round, with a 4-2 win over Jordan Brown.

There were wins in the evening session for Kyren Wilson, John Higgins, Luca Brecel and Gerard Greene, who beat Ali Carter 4-0.

Earlier on Wednesday, current world champion Judd Trump eased through 4-0 against Billy Joe Castle while Mark Selby beat Chen Zifan 4-1.

But there was no such luck for Barry Hawkins as he fell to a 4-0 defeat against China’s Tian Pengfei.

Wales’ hopefuls Dominic Dale, Daniel Wells and Matthew Stevens all came through their second-round matches to join compatriot Williams in the last 32.

Sign up to My Sport to follow snooker news on the BBC app.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *